The Different Aspects Of Personal Injury Laws

All personal injury laws are developed at a state level in the United States. Judges and members of legislatures congregate to create and amend the laws. This means that the personal injury laws in one US state may not be identical to those of another state; for example, injury laws in California will be different to laws in Florida. However, the laws do share certain similarities and when defining personal injury laws it is necessary to take three torts into consideration – negligence torts, international torts, and strict liability torts.

What Are The Three Torts In Personal Injury Law?

1. International Torts

International torts deal with the cases where offenders are fully aware of the consequences of their actions while they are committing the crime. By being aware of their action’s consequences, the individual is committing an intentional act. Examples of international torts include household physical and mental abuse, assault, and workplace bullying.

2. Negligence Torts

Negligence torts are the most well known aspects and are approached on a daily basis in personal injury law. The law makes it necessary for all individuals to act in a responsible and reasonable manner thinking how another would act if placed in the same situation. Basically, all people should behave rationally so that others are not negatively influenced by their behavior. Negligence torts are involved when the person does not behave in this way.

3. Strict Liability Torts

Strict liability torts deal with a separate type of behavior. In these situations, if the behavior of one person does harm to another the victim can sue the offender because the actions injured another. Points like whether the defendant was able to conform to the normal behavior standards need to be taken into account to identify the consequences of the act.